Fit for purpose

There is a new meme on the block.
Donald has kicked it off and tagged Thomas who in turn has tagged me. This was an age ago now, but here goes.

The question this time is “How do you stay fit?“.

That is a very good question and indeed one that needs to be asked and at the end of the day it is proposed to bring forth a full and fruitful answer to this no doubt excellent line of enquiry.

I am waffling – I shall slip out of Sir Humphrey mode and actually answer the question.

Short answer
I run.

Longer answer…
I run in the mornings 15 Minutes 4-6 times a week. Some Saturday mornings I will go for a 45 minute cycle and try and find some challenging gradient. But finding that gradient is challenging in London. Running is my least favourite way of keeping fit. I would much prefer to cycle or swim but I want to stay fit and running is so accessible. All I need is my runners and my motivation. No expensive equipment and no gym fees. Me, the road and the stopwatch. Some mornings are harder that others and to be honest I lost a bit of momentum over Easter but that has been remedied this week.

It’s not just running around the block. As we software types like to say – GIGO – Garbage In, Garbage Out. Staying fit is about eating healthy too, which is why you will see me with a big bottle of water on my desk and munching on insanely healthy things like raw carrots, celery, oat cakes and bananas. You will also see an empty chocolate wrapper or 3 as well, on occasion, so I am not just a fitness fanatic. It’s not like I am threatening Stuart O’Grady for his place on the CSC team and I am certainly not weighing my pasta like Lance used to. I am running to maintain a level of fitness that I am happy with with the level of commitment that I am happy to maintain. My goals are to keep my resting heart rate at or below 60 bpm and maintain a state of health that I am happy with. That means a simple 15 run almost every day is enough to keep me fit enough without costing me precious time sweating it out in a gym.

That said, it is only recently that I got back onto the road. I have, in years gone by, ridden 100’s of kilometres and participated in RunLondon but up until a month or two ago I was doing very little. I went to a local gym to check out what they could offer. I decided I could put money in my pocket by pounding the block every morning and rather than ‘fatblogging‘ I am using twitter to record my progress. Every morning after my run I text in the relevant stats that I care about. Using twitter will enable me to consume and parse the rss feed into a nice graph. I could keep track of these thing many other ways but using twitter to record this stuff is a fun experiment too.

So there you go. That is how I keep fit.

Now in the way of the meme – tagging. Whom shall I tag? Well Martin, Blag, Craig and Michael – your it. How do you keep fit in this busy busy SAP world you all inhabit?
Technorati Tags: , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Fit for purpose”


  1. 1 donaldhtaylor Friday, 4 May 2007 at 15:07

    A very sensible approach. I have to say that the overwhelming response to the meme has been that everyone else seems to do much more to keep fit that I do (perhaps it’s a self-selecting population). I like your approach of lots of short (15 min) runs – and strangely enough, it’s something that I’ve just begun doing myself. I thought that having lived opposite a park for 11 years, I might actually start using it.

    Keep up the good work!

  2. 2 nigeljames Wednesday, 9 May 2007 at 15:16

    Thanks for the encouragement Donald and glad to see that it is helping you too.


  1. 1 The Immortal Hamburger « Getting Technical Trackback on Wednesday, 19 December 2007 at 11:51
Comments are currently closed.




Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

