Boost for WordPress

You may have seen the news allready.

I won’t claim to be a fast blogger, instantly reacting to the worlds events but I do like to put in my 2p when something interesting happens.

Automattic has raised a US$29.5 million in Series B funding to position the company to

execute on our vision of a better web not just in blogging

Three hearty cheers to them. Make mine a Marstons, or a Glass of Blue Monster Reserve, or a glass of Château de Chasselas .

Well done.

I have been thinking recently about moving this blog and self hosting it. Not only that but moving away from WordPress to s9y or one of the other php based blogging tools. Mostly, truth be known, for security reasons.

But given WordPress is the software I know and it is easy to use and I know they are working on making it better and with this level of investment I am happy to be sticking with WordPress.

As Andrew said on the PHPLondon mailing list, who has struggled with the internals of WordPress while buiding Alphaville for the FT:

And yes, my own blog runs WordPress. It’s just so damned easy to install :-)

Ma.tt is one of the fresh faces of the future. (Not everyone gets DFOF‘ed)

4 Responses to “Boost for WordPress”


  1. 1 ncahost Thursday, 24 January 2008 at 16:29

    WordPress is brilliant software and im sure in time will get much better!

  2. 2 drmike Thursday, 21 February 2008 at 0:28

    Hopefully they’ll spend of that money towards improving customer service as well as towards security. It would be too much to ask for them to work on their ethics though as they seem to lack them.

  3. 3 nigeljames Thursday, 21 February 2008 at 10:31

    Gee Mike, by the look of it you got a bit burned by WordPress. Sorry to hear that.

    Can I suggest you move on?

  4. 4 drmike Sunday, 24 February 2008 at 18:34

    Can I suggest you move on?

    You may want to check to see what I’m blogging with. I left wordpress a long time ago.


Comments are currently closed.




Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

