Twitter.com

Craig sent me an invite to twitter.com yesterday.

All it seems attempting to do is answer the question – ‘What are you doing now?’

It is of course a social networking type thing built with agily type methods and probably RoR.

What is cool is that it is effectively a broadcast system. If I link up my mobile phone or IM then any message I leave will be sent to my friends, either by SMS, IM or an RSS feed.

Why is this useful? Not sure yet. I think the jury is out on it but hey, you could check it out too or you could view my profile. Ahh, except I am in secret mode so I have to let you in to my inner circle.

It certainly is doing something very simple to appeal to the largest possibly audience, as Niel explains in this post and the UI is very clean and easy to use.

Technorati Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “Twitter.com”


  1. 1 Craig Cmehil Wednesday, 13 December 2006 at 19:11

    My thought was this, you are at a conference and want to hook up with a bunch of people well you may not have access to email but normally your mobile and SMS works…

    just a thought – liking see what people are working, already shot a mail off to James asking about something he was thinking about 🙂

  2. 2 Michael Specht Thursday, 14 December 2006 at 1:25

    James one of the things I have been thinking about with Twitter is could it be extended to provide an open Presence type system?

    The problem I have with Twitter at the moment is some of the people I am friends with are friends with people who are not on my list. This means if they reply to a Twitter I only get to see one half of the conversation. A bit frustrating.


Comments are currently closed.




