Storm in a teacup

Like the snow that we have had in London for the last couple of days, I think the current storm happening over at SDN will blow over soon enough. The new growth will bud out, the dead wood will be taken to the recycling centre and the tree will blossom once again.

My Dad, wise old sage that he is, says that you would get bored of summer if that’s is all you ever experienced. A good storm every now and again not only makes the sun more appreciated but also washes away the dust making everything fresh.

Allow me another metaphore if you will. Fire. The great fire of London in 1666 devestated the city. It has been rebuilt and it thrives as great city and a great place to live. In fact look at the great things to come out of the fire. St Pauls for one. Christopher Wren was an amazing architect.

I have said all this to say that, ‘This too will pass and what is to come will be a whole lot better’.

And there is probably a whole lot of registered SDNers that haven’t even noticed! (Like 600 000)

Let’s move on, fix what needs to be fixed and have a good laugh.

Technorati Tags: , , , ,

3 Responses to “Storm in a teacup”


  1. 1 Craig Cmehil Tuesday, 13 February 2007 at 12:12

    Often it’s said that in any given community 1% of the whole is considered to be the most active followed by and additional 2% of the lurkers always on the verge of becoming part of the 1% – or something like that – so we have 700,000 give or take

    I can think of 12 who have responded publicly in whole and views I believe are still under 1000 so we certainly are not getting a public response (unless you count all the mails I am still receiving – 85 and counting)

    Doubt if we’ll hit the 1% mark publicly or not who knows but I have a vision for my own version of a rebuild after the “fire” for the blog area 🙂 I think a decent compromise I’ll finish up a small preezo on it and share it with our team and unless they kill me I’ll pop it into the community then maybe we can get on with things LOL

    Bold words for a yet unseen vision but hey it can’t get worse right….

  2. 3 Eddy De Clercq Tuesday, 13 February 2007 at 18:32

    Hi,

    I do agree that it’s (only) a storm in a glass of water. I prefer sparkling water, but this one contains too much phosphates 😦

    Eddy


Comments are currently closed.




