The Blue Monster sheds it’s fur and shows it’s teeth

When Hugh posted this cartoon

I eat penguin

I had a bit of a chuckle.

But when I saw the news about Microsoft suing because free software violates 235 patents I nearly fell off my chair.

No doubt a lot of blog ink will be used up on this issue, but I don’t think it is a conversation or a case that Microsoft will win. It will annoy a lot of people who are involved in the open source industry and seems to already have if you follow the links below.

When Hugh and Steve started the conversation for Microsoft to change the world, I didn’t think it would take this turn. OK Hugh and Steve don’t run the Microsoft legal department but this is going to change the software world and make a whole buncha laywers rich. Don’t we have better things to do with our time.

If Microsoft was a TV show, I think they just “jumped the shark“.

Blue Monster

Today I think there will be a lot of people that want Microsoft to “go home”.

Thought for the day. What does “live” spell backwards?

Links:
I eat Penguin

Microsoft must really be hurting, Microsoft about to enter into patent war, theWHIR.com Blogs, All about Microsoft, Ask The VC, O’Reilly ONLamp Blog, Microsoft Watch, The Technology Liberation …, Patent Law Blog, Neomeme, Scobleizer, Channel 9, IPcentral Weblog, Texas Startup Blog, FurdLog and Slashdot

Technorati Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “The Blue Monster sheds it’s fur and shows it’s teeth”


  1. 1 steve clayton Monday, 14 May 2007 at 20:27

    i honestly hope this doesn’t affect what we’re trying to do with the Blue Monster. The original cartoon was all about Microsoft telling it’s story better than they do. The Blue Monster series certainly touched on open source but more with regards to the ability for Microsoft Partners to build a business on open source vs. commercial software. It got turned in to Open Source vs. Commercial in a competitive manner which I hadn’t foreseen.

    Whatever happens, I’ll continue with the Blue Monster as a symbol of the change I want to see in Microsoft.

  2. 2 nigeljames Monday, 14 May 2007 at 20:41

    Thanks for your comments Steve. For the record I am a registered Microsoft partner and deal with a lot of open source stuff as well. I am not a technology religious nut. I will use whatever gets the job done for my clients.
    This sort of legal action is not going to help anyone. I will be watching how it plays out with interest.

    Thanks again for your thoughts.
    Nigel


Comments are currently closed.




