triumph and disaster – imposters both

Hugh always writes good thought provoking posts, but his post today on triumph and disaster was excellent. It helped that he linked to Rudyard Kipling’s ‘If…‘. This poem has been a favourite of mine since my english teacher made us study the poem when I was about 14. I think english teachers have a lot to answer for.

The thought of triumph and disaster has always been a powerful one for me also. My Dad used to say that you a few clouds every now and then made you appreciate the sun all the more. He had his fair share of ‘clouds’ growing up. He came through to create a solid business that more than provided for his family. The early days were a lot of hard, physical work. Think trees and axes. In fact even the latter days were hard, physical work. I don’t think you ever get away from that in farming.

Re-reading If today, I was struck by the line ‘make a heap of all your winnings and risk it on one turn of pitch-and-toss’. It sounds like a recipe for a lot of software start-ups these days (or are they up-starts?) A lot of hard work with possibly a pay off somewhere down the line. We hear about those who ‘make it’ and sometimes about those who fade away. I think both stories are worth while. No one like the pain of ‘failure’ but the joy of success is fleeting. We learn, move on and start again.

Hmm… This is getting a tad philosophical. I had better get back to the ‘distance run’.

Link: gapingvoid: “cartoons drawn on the back of business cards”: triumph and disaster

Technorati Tags: , , , ,

