#include std.disclaimer

There has been some words written recently about the partisanship or otherwise or certain bloggers if they are invited to tradeshows by large companies and have their travel and expenses paid for them.

Well, as I was recently invited to the SAP TechEd conference as a blogger, I thought I would lay out my affiliations for all to see. Yes my flights and part of my accommodation was paid for.

When I was invited to the event by Mark Finnern, I openly asked him (half jokingly) ‘Am I expected to be an SAP Stooge now?’. He laughed and made it quite clear that this was not the case. During the event we caught up to talk about many things one of which was this issue. I made it quite clear to him that although I appreciate the invitation to the event I certainly would not be completely one eyed about SAP. Yes, my company makes most of it revenue by assisting my clients with SAP implementations but if I see something which I think is a little odd I will not hesitate on calling SAP out on it. In my mind that would be like a grain of sand trying to get the beach to change colour but I have been pleasantly surprised how open SAP executives have been when listening to what I have to say.

For that I am thankful and am looking forward to the year ahead and even an invitation to the Berlin TechEd next October.

I have a whole stack of stuff to write up coming out of the conference so hang on to your hat. Hopefully I can get it out before the moment passes.

While we are on the subject of disclaiming I am also a customer of FreeAgentCentral and there is a nice win-win if you sign up from this link. If I am writing about FreeAgentCentral it is because it is great software that is saving many UK contractors time and money in producing their accounts.

Lastly, I am part of a team developing a product called ChurchWorks. Church managment software if you will. If you ever catch me writing about that it is because I am trying to raise it’s profile and make a few sales.

So I hope that lays a few things out in the open. if you have any questions you are always welcome to leave a comment or get in touch.

2 Responses to “#include std.disclaimer”


  1. 1 dan mcweeney Monday, 22 October 2007 at 15:29

    I think this is one of those times where comparing bloggers to the press fails. The press NEED access they make their money of being first to a story. Few bloggers make “money” to begin with and still fewer make money being first. With these two facts in hand it seems apparent why paying a blogger’s way is a good idea. It is also apparent that if a blogger says something bad about the company, not paying their way next year will just piss even more people off. Good opinions are like a cold they spread slowly bad opinions are like Ebola there is no stopping them — be careful what you spread.

  2. 2 Mark Finnern Tuesday, 23 October 2007 at 16:34

    Hi Nigel,

    ‘Am I expected to be an SAP Stooge now?’ When I approached you about this at the conference, I wanted to make sure that you didn’t feel that way.

    It is a fine line and I hope we are living it, Mark.


Comments are currently closed.




