8 things you (probably) don’t know about me.

Ah the New Years meme. 8 things this year. It is remenisent of the price rise of the London congestion charge from £5 to £8. Anyway on with the meme.

I have been tagged by both Craig Cmehil and Thomas Otter and as I recall Thomas tagged me last year when the price of admission was a mere five things.

Here we go…

  1. I am a big big big Monty Python fan. I found a record (yes, a big black round thing) in my brothers collection when I was twelve and haven’t looked back since. Ni Ni.
  2. Of all the humour in the world I would put Australian first. I love the Working Dog films. The Castle and The Dish are two of my favourite films (or is that fav.or.it Nick?)
  3. Of all the things that are good and bad about SAP, being able to use the Control-Y combination to select data from across several fields and then paste it into several fields in another session is one of my biggest timesavers – or at least it was last week when I was copying data structures.
  4. The first swan I ever saw was black. There are white swans?
  5. I love really really like eclipse as an IDE. Sure it takes up a bit of memory and takes a while to load but it I have found to be great to work with and I only have to start it about once a week thanks to hibernation of my machine.
  6. Three to go … on the home straight.
    My first car was a Holden Commodore – except is was a 4 cylinder and therefore a tad under powered. In retrospect, that was probably a good thing.
  7. Having recently tasted these for the first time in a long time – Violet Crumble beats Crunchie any day of the week. A Violet Crumbe is a real treat.
  8. The longest distance I have driven in 24 hours is about 1000k from Halls Creek to Alice Springs via the Tanami (Tan-am-eye) Track.

Ok now for the tagging bit. So I am going to tag up. That is tag some of the best PHP bloggers that I have been following for the past year of so. So if you guys don’t want to play along that’s fine. I’ll still be reading your blogs.

Nick Halstead from fav.or.it,
Eli White from Digg,
Terry Chay from Tagged,
Chris Shifflet from Omniti,
Wez Furlong who is speaking at to the London Php Conference Friday Feb 29,
Cal Evans from Zend Devzone,
Sara Golemon from Yahoo,
Liz Naramore, PHPWomen‘s champion.

So, if you have the inclination, I’d love to learn a few more things about you guys.

1 Response to “8 things you (probably) don’t know about me.”


  1. 1 Chris Shiflett Friday, 8 February 2008 at 20:03

    Hi Nigel,

    Thanks for the mention. I had a few things people don’t know about me listed on my about page, but I guess that means they’re people things do know about me now. 🙂

    I just added you to my planet (http://shiflett.org/planet), so hopefully I won’t miss your posts in the future.


Comments are currently closed.




