Goodness coming to Web Dynpro Abap near you.

Adobe Flash Rendering In Web Dynpro for Abap Thomas Jung has been working on some amazing stuff. I love the power of adobe flash interface to produce slick looking graphs. He twittered yesterday that he was making some new screen casts of what is coming soon to the Netweaver Stack. Although my current gig is not running that sort of rig and I twittered back that I wouldn’t likely get near it until 2011, I was interested to see what was going on. Tom kindly sent a preview of the cast and this screen shot is of a flash graphs generated from within Web Dynpro for ABAP.

I am a big fan of visualising these kinds. Flash is a great way to deliver this sort of data as they make data more usable. This kind of innovation is what keeps me excited about what SAP is doing in the market place even though I may not get to work on them for a while.

These screen casts are going to have voice overs attached and appear in the eLearning section of SDN soon.

Bonus Link: If you have not heard, James Governor is running an Adobe SAP Nanoconference on July the 11th Adobe’s new offices in Regent’s Park, London.

5 Responses to “Goodness coming to Web Dynpro Abap near you.”


  1. 1 rsol1 Wednesday, 2 July 2008 at 8:54

    “I love the power of adobe flash interface to produce slick looking graphs. ” – I was hoping Thomas could sell Waldorf on FLOB

  2. 2 Michael Koch Friday, 4 July 2008 at 23:38

    This looks very promising. I remember at SAP TechED Vienna 2005 chatting to Macromedia guys about this sort of thing, but they didn’t seem to understand what I was on about. Maybe Adobe helped a little bit along. I think Adobe will be in Berlin this year, too, but not sure. Might be worthwhile having a look what they’ve got to show us.

  3. 3 nigeljames Saturday, 5 July 2008 at 10:42

    Michael, Adobe have been working with SAP for years now with interactive forms and flex. This just makes it that much easier to use and deploy.

    For all those people who think that SAP’s UI sucks this is one step towards a great UI that is easy to create.

    Watch the presentations when they hit the eLearning zone on SDN.

    BTW – hope you can make it to TechEd this year.


  1. 1 The New SAP UI « rsol Weblog Trackback on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 at 9:31
  2. 2 A sneak peak at the new Web Dynpro features | yojibee Trackback on Wednesday, 23 July 2008 at 17:06
Comments are currently closed.




