PHP London July 2008

As always the London PHP meetup last night went off.

I met a whole buncha new people. Some of whom were from bluhalo.com and others were from iBuildings.

Ian Christian presented a great talk on doctrine (rhymes with whine not win apparently but I guess that depends on what school you went to or what country you were born in)

Doctrine is a ORM tool for mapping your classes into databases tables. His presentation went well even with offline google docs!

I later got into all sorts of conversations with the afore mentioned new iBuildings guys and aparently the are an international company now because they are in two countries. Well judging by the nationality of them they are a global company! Other people drifed into the conversation and I mentioned I was a SAP consultant by day and someone (not the iBuildings guys FTR) had decided that SAP was all proprietory and was not into open standards blah blah blah. I tried to press him for evidence for his assertions but none came and someone else conventiently came along to rescue him.

I could go on here about how you could connect with SAP dozens of ways including SOAP, REST, Java, .Net, PHP, Python, Perl, Ruby with connectors some official and some open source (how’s Zend Core for SAP coming along guys 😉 hint hint ) but if you have decided that SAP is not open then I guess your mind is in a similar state.

A small group of Symfony guys found a table and started doing the symfony thing and I managed to see Ian was getting prepared for the Agavi presentation next month. (Backstory here)

At the end of the evening I saw Marcus giving a one-on-one with someone so I came over to see what was happening and ended up getting a personal tour through simpletest and intro to TDD.

Thanks Marcus.

4 Responses to “PHP London July 2008”


  1. 1 Ivo Friday, 4 July 2008 at 17:04

    Hi,

    I think it’s ‘doctrine’ without the o. (assuming it’s this project: http://www.phpdoctrine.org/)

    And watch out for those crazy ibuildings guys. 🙂

  2. 2 David Zülke Friday, 4 July 2008 at 18:12

    Hahaha awesome T-Shirt 🙂

    Very looking forward to giving the talk on August 7! See you then!

  3. 3 nigeljames Saturday, 5 July 2008 at 10:31

    @Ivo – ahh yes good pick up thanks for that – fixed.

    @David – great to see you have a sense of humour. See you in August.

  4. 4 Ian P. Christian Friday, 11 July 2008 at 15:09

    It’s entirely possible I mis-pronounce it, I’m dyslexic so make up my own way to say words, I’d never heard anyone say it aloud before 😀


Comments are currently closed.




