Cycling to work



Bicycle Belles,
originally uploaded by www.alastairhumphreys.com.

This week I have started to cycle to work again. My monthly train ticket had expired and at my clients office there is ample bike parking and showers. I had no excuse.

So last Monday I got my bike out, packed my bag, planned a route and went for it.

Seeing it was about 3 months since I had pulled my bike from storage and at that time I was only cycling a mere 3.5 miles to my client I wasn’t sure how I would find the new 8 mile trip.

I shouldn’t have worried. It is taking me about 35 minutes on the bike which is a good enough pace. I would like to get that under 30 minutes but the goal is to get to work not to beat Chris Hoy in 2012.

There is a great feel riding on the road in London. There are lots of people out there and while there is a little argy bargy most of the people I have seen have been pretty safe especially all the cyclists passing me. If there is anything that get my competitive edge going it is having someone pass me. I always want to jump on their wheel but most of the time they are much fitter than me and they leave me in their dust.

I am not sure how long I am going to be able to keep on cycling with the darkness and winter approaching but in the mean time when you are driving your car – watch for cyclists.

Thanks to Alastair Humphreys for his great shot of the woman cycling entered in a competition to make cycling more accessable to women.

1 Response to “Cycling to work”


  1. 1 al Monday, 6 October 2008 at 7:17

    well done for cycling to work – and even more so for evangelising about it!


Comments are currently closed.




